Friday 5: Songs of the Week

20160708_190416 [50443]Music is comforting. Penny Lane said it best in the movie Almost Famous, “I always tell the girls, never take it seriously, if ya never take it seriously, ya never get hurt, ya never get hurt, ya always have fun, and if you ever get lonely, just go to the record store and visit your friends.”

Ain’t it the truth?

I can dance along to a pop song or scream along with at the top of my lungs. I can crank my stereo up to 11 and jam to whatever the mood inspires. Music allows me to relive memories in my life.  Music has power. It moves us to dance, hum, shout and cry.

And yes, pastors are allowed to rock.

This week my emotions and stress levels have been all over the place. My music choices have changed daily based on those emotions. Yet, I find myself going to the same songs, over and over…

  1. Copy of A by Nine Inch Nails (album: Hesitation Marks, 2013). It’s classic NIN meets techno. Not sure what the song is about exactly (like most I listen to) but I love it’s got a nice beat.
  2. Break Out by Foo Fighters (album: There is Nothing Left to Lose, 2000). Again, I have no idea about the song’s meaning  but maybe it’s about breaking out of whatever is holding us back. I can listen to it on repeat and every time the line, “I may be crazy, little frayed around the ends” – totally gets to me.
  3. Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd (album: The Wall, 1979). That one line of “Just a little pin prick, There’ll be no more ahhhh…” And “That’ll keep you going for the show.” Love it. I can relate. When life leaves you sort of numb, sometimes it’s the adrenaline or work or whatever that drives you to do the motions of life.
  4. White Limo by Foo Fighters (album: Wasting Light, 2011). Love those Foo Fighters. This song is a punk-rock-pop package in a neat little 3 minute ditty. I have no idea what Dave Grohl is singing, rather screaming, and I don’t care. I can head-bang to it my car., which is always a great stress reliever.
  5. The Light by Disturbed (album: Immortalized, 2015). The name says it all – don’t let the darkness take over the light. And “don’t let hope become a memory.” Been thinking about that a lot lately.

There you have it. The top hard rock, mellowy, punk, pop songs for me this week. Must be the mood I’m in.

I love that music can provide solace in the midst of stress and sometimes there is even a moment with God. Perhaps that is God’s way of speaking to me when I need it. God’s comfort in the melody and guitars when I feel angry, moody, sad, or when I’m stressed.

Goes to show – you never know when or in what form God might appear.

What are your top songs of the week?

Leave a Reply

