Misc. Wednesday: Keep on Rockin’

wp-1472056693246.jpgThis past Monday evening I was at Wrigley Field rocking out to one of my favorite bands, Pearl Jam. It was epic. I mean, Eddie stopped in the middle of a song to kick out a guy who was harassing a women! Just awesome. Plus, being the Cub fan that he is, Eddie toasted to Wrigley and the Cubs. Could not have gotten any better.

Anyhow, the whole show had a vibe, different from when I saw Foo Fighters or U2 or Nine Inch Nails or any of the other countless bands I’ve seen over the years. I rocked out, jammed, screamed and enjoyed seeing the band I’ve been following for the last 25 years. I had a smile on my face the entire 3 hours the band played. And yes, even after the lights came up announcing it was time to call it quits, Eddie, Stone, Jeff, Mike and Matt kept playing.

As I sat squished next to some idiot (he was being a jerk and a pompous you-know-what so idiot might not be the correct word actually) on the bus making my way to the blue line station, I thought, “Wow! What a night!” and “I can’t believe I just saw Pearl Jam again!” I also thought about how I couldn’t wait to get home, to eat something and drink some water as my headache was growing steadily after the show ended. I wasn’t willing to leave my seat during the show as I didn’t want to miss anything, so my thirst and hunger waited. Oh, the sacrifices one makes.

The bus pushed on, making stops and I sat and wondered, do we take moments like this for granted? Do we forget how lucky we are to go on vacations or attend concerts or movies or whatever it is we do for fun? I’m lucky to have do a lot of those things as I know many people do not have the opportunities. Also, do we forget that God takes pleasure when we, God’s creation, is having fun and enjoying this life that has been given to us?

I hope not.

I can’t recall if I’ve said this before or not but God, or at least the God I believe in, doesn’t like to see us in pain or hurting. God cries along with us and is angry when we are angry, depressed when we are depressed and so on. This incredible God also laughs, dances, and smiles when we are enjoying this beautiful life that was given to us. God is the ultimate parent and guardian, so naturally God would feel the same emotions as any parent or guardian would.

As I danced and sang, “Oh I, oh, I’m still alive/Hey, hey, I, oh, I’m still alive/Hey I, oh, I’m still alive” God smiled. I know God smiled. My faith tells me God smiled and maybe even sang along with me. Because God is loving and caring and takes joy in the things humanity does.

I hope we never forget that.

Leave a Reply

