Misc. Wednesday: It’s a Jungle Out There

wp-image-1011017979jpg.jpegIt’s been one of those weeks. And it’s only Wednesday.

One meeting after another, a new church year on the horizon and a To-Do List that is at least 2 pages long (and needs to be almost complete by Sunday).

I’ve been listening to a Classic Rock play list on my drive to and from church. Each and every day the beginning of Guns ‘n Roses’ “Welcome to the Jungle” comes on. I usually switch it but before I do, I think, “Yep, that’s ministry.”

I mean, ok, Axl Rose sang about life in LA and the whole sex, drugs and rock ‘n roll thing. Perhaps the song doesn’t quite line up with ministry in some respects. LOL However, the idea of this world that’s hard to navigate, that when you’re high off of a program or worship, and yet it’s hard to please everyone…That’s ministry.

After the jungle I crank up “Comfortably Numb” by Pink Floyd. When I get stressed, I get sort of numb. Not depressed or anything to worry over but I’m so tired I’ve gone numb.

Sometimes ministry takes me to the highest of highs and the lowest of lows. I’ve been challenged and stressed and high-fived and cried and laughed.

Don’t misunderstand – I wouldn’t change my call for the world. I love my job and my church. There are moments that I feel as if I’m hiking through a jungle, finding things around the corner that challenge me or stress me out. No one said ministry would be easy. Jesus struggled in his ministry for sure. I mean, look at what happened to him as a result of all he did.

In some of these moments, I’m thankful for friends and colleagues. Colleagues who will listen and share your pain and even come to your aid. Colleagues who will affirm your ministry. Friends who you can text at any time to vent to and who will affirm your ministry. I’ve never felt more blessed to have these people in my life. Most pastors have little friends or even colleagues to have someone to talk with. I’m thankful I have both.

Thank you God for friends and colleagues without whom I couldn’t get through this jungle of a calling.

 

Leave a Reply

